VA – Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters (2006)

VA - Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters (2006)
Artist: Various
Album: Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters
Genre: Soul/R’n’B
Label: Rhino Atlantic
Released: 2006
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Aretha Franklin – My Way (4:05)
02. Margie Joseph – It’s Growing (3:20)
03. Patti LaBelle & The Blue Belles – (1-2-3-4-5-6-7) Count the Days (2:50)
04. Doris Troy – Please Little Angel (2:37)
05. Mary Wells – Hands Off My Baby (2:30)
06. Dee Dee Sharp – My Best Friend’s Man (2:51)
07. Dee Dee Warwick – Rescue Me (3:22)
08. Baby Washington – What Becomes of the Brokenhearted (3:09)
09. Irma Thomas – Full Time Woman (3:05)
10. Judy Clay – I Got to Love Somebody’s Baby (3:30)
11. Esther Phillips – Cheater Man (2:22)
12. Laura Lee – What a Man (2:57)
13. The Sweet Inspirations – Ain’t Nothing Gonna Change Me (3:33)
14. Jackie Moore – It Ain’t Who You Know (3:11)
15. Bettye Swann – I Ain’t That Easy to Lose (3:42)
16. Barbara Lewis – Thankful for What I Got (2:43)


Atlantic Records (along with its Atco Records imprint) was pretty much the center of all things soul in the late ’60s and early ’70s, thanks in no small part to the label’s recording and licensing agreements with Stax Records and the ever watchful eyes (and ears) of producer Jerry Wexler. This interesting set collects rare singles and previously unreleased tracks from Atlantic’s deep vaults, many of which have not appeared on CD before. Among the gems here are Aretha Franklin’s stunning version of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way,” recorded in 1970 with the Dixie Flyers, a spunky cover of Fontella Bass’ 1965 hit “Rescue Me” done by Dee Dee Warwick (sister of Dionne Warwick), and “What a Man,” the B-side to Laura Lee’s 1969 single “Separation Line,” which was revisited in 1972 by Jackie Moore. Why any of these tracks sat so long in the can is a mystery, as each is a revelation, particularly Franklin’s cut. Sounding a bit like an alternative version of the peak days of soul, Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters makes a solid coda to anyone’s vintage soul library.
Review by Steve Leggett