The Sweet Inspirations – The Sweet Inspirations (1967)

The Sweet Inspirations - The Sweet Inspirations (1967)
Artist: The Sweet Inspirations
Album: The Sweet Inspirations
Genre: Gospel, Soul, Rhythm & Blues
Origin: USA
Released: 1967
Quality: mp3, 192 kbps

1 – Oh! What a Fool I’ve Been (2:38)
2 – Blues Stay Away from Me (3:24)
3 – Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream (2:23)
4 – Knock on Wood (3:02)
5 – Do Right Woman-Do Right Man (3:04)
6 – Don’t Fight It (2:27)
7 – Sweet Inspiration (2:56)
8 – Let It Be Me (2:42)
9 – I’m Blue (2:10)
10 – Reach out for Me (2:20)
11 – Here I Am (Take Me) (3:07)
12 – Why (Am I Treated So Bad) (2:49)


Together in various permutations since the 1950s, the Sweet Inspirations (which included Cissy Houston) were the female back-up singers that sweetened some of the most important soul recordings of the ’60s and ’70s. They also performed as a group unto themselves, garnering some chart action along the way. This was their first album, recorded in ’67, and though it contains mostly covers of the hits of the day, the Sweet Inspirations infuse their unique charm and skill into each number. This is a must-have for girl-group aficionados and soul music historians everywhere.