The King Sisters – Swingin’ On A Star (2001)

The King Sisters - Swingin' On A Star (2001)
Artist: The King Sisters
Album: Swingin’ On A Star
Genre: Vocal Jazz, Easy Listening
Origin: USA
Released: 2001
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Milkman, Keep Those Bottles Quiet
02. Rockin’ Chair
03. Saturday Night Is The Loneliest Night Of The Week
04. Laura
05. On The Atcheson, Topeka And The Santa Fe
06. I Surrender Dear
07. Swingin’ On A Star
08. Hawaiian War Chant
09. Jersey Bounce
10. Canadian Capers
11. Stardust
12. Boogie Woogie Washerwoman
13. Over The Rainbow
14. Ol’ Man River
15. I Understand
16. Route 66
17. Till The End Of Time
18. Minka
19. For You
20. Stuff Like That There


For Swingin’ on a Star, Collectors’ Choice compiled 20 tracks of mid-’40s radio transcriptions from the King Sisters, most with an orchestra backing led by Alvino Rey. Though they were one of the better female vocal groups, the King Sisters did tend toward the bland — good thing, then, that Rey’s atomic guitar lines liven up many of these tracks. Still, the material is much more ballad-oriented, including “Till the End of Time,” “Ol’ Man River,” “I Surrender Dear,” and “Stardust.”
Review by John Bush

Copyright © 2021