Stan Kenton – Kenton In Hi-Fi (1956)

Stan Kenton - Kenton In Hi Fi (1956)
Artist: Stan Kenton
Album: Kenton In Hi-Fi
Genre: Jazz, Space-Age, Big Band, Swing
Origin: USA
Released: 1956
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. Artistry Jumps
2. Interlude
3. Lover
4. Unison Riff
5. Intermission Riff
6. Concerto To End All Concertos
7. Minor Riff
8. Collaboration
9. Eager Beaver
10. Artistry In Boogie
11. Painted Rhythm
12. Southern Scandal
13. The Peanut Vendor


After years of big band experimentation, Stan Kenton seemed to settle into a more grounded groove on 1956’s In Hi-Fi. To his credit, Kenton did keep things swinging before, even in the midst of high brow bombast like the string-laden, 39 piece Innovations in Modern Music orchestra and numerous jazz meets Stravinsky projects. This uncanny balance of flow and brains came out of Kenton’s own tempered direction and fine contributions by the likes of arranger Pete Rugolo, trumpeter Shorty Rogers, alto saxophonist Art Pepper, and singers Anita O’Day and June Christy. Thanks to a seamless mix of dazzling charts and liberal doses of Lunceford and Ellington-inspired swing, the marriage certainly works on Kenton in Hi-Fi. Old hits like “Eager Beaver” and “Artistry In Boogie” sparkle in the warm glow of ’50s stereo technology, while fiery renditions of “Lover” and “The Peanut Vendor” show the famous muscle of the Kenton band. With the stellar playing of tenor saxophonist Vido Musso, trumpeter Pete Candoli, and drummer Mel Lewis to look forward to, one can see why this album was not only one of Kenton’s most popular releases, but a critical success as well.
Review by Stephen Cook