Sophie Milman – Sophie Milman (2004)

Sophie Milman - Sophie Milman (2004)
Artist: Sophie Milman
Album: Sophie Milman
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: Canada
Released: 2004
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Agua De Beber [03:55]
02. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love [03:24]
03. Guilty [04:06]
04. My Baby Just Cares For Me [03:34]
05. Back Home To Me [03:35]
06. The Man I Love [05:33]
07. Lonely In New York [03:17]
08. I Feel Pretty [04:51]
09. La Vie En Rose [04:51]
10. My Heart Belongs To Daddy [04:21]
11. Ochi Cherne [02:18]
12. This Time Of The Year [05:01]


Sophie Milman’s debut reveals a gifted young jazz vocalist who swings with a surprising degree of maturity. Though born in Russia, she has called Canada home for some time and is joined by some of the country’s best jazz musicians. Milman isn’t afraid to take a few chances and seems to be quite comfortable with her own voice rather than copying others, as young performers have a tendency to do. Her upbeat treatment of “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love, Baby” is full of spirit, while she’s clearly having fun in the somewhat campy 1960s-flavored arrangement of “My Heart Belongs to Daddy.” Pianist Bill King (who is also one of Milman’s two producers for this project) provides superb accompaniment to the singer in “I Feel Pretty,” which evolves from its original setting into a lively bop setting featuring saxophonist Pat La Barbera. Among the newer compositions, Milman excels in her interpretation of the breezy “Lonely in New York'” (briefly showcasing guitarist Reg Schwager and violinist Lenny Solomon), though the bland pop song “Back Home to Me” sounds like something taken from a Norah Jones CD. Sophie Milman clearly has the ability to turn heads in the jazz world; all she needs is the opportunity to be heard.
Review by Ken Dryden

Copyright © 2021