Sameer Gupta – A Circle Has No Beginning (2018)

Sameer Gupta - A Circle Has No Beginning (2018)
Artist: Sameer Gupta
Album: A Circle Has No Beginning
Genre: Ethnic Jazz, World Fusion
Origin: India
Released: 2018
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
Little Wheel Spin And Spin (00:05:17)
Taiwa (00:05:33)
Innocence In Harlem (00:06:48)
Come Take Everything (Intro) (00:03:37)
Come Take Everything (00:06:44)
Two Faces Of The Moon (00:06:25)
Tyagaraja Dreams In Brooklyn (00:07:08)
With Blessings (00:08:44)
Crows At Sunset (Intro) (00:02:19)
Crows At Sunset (00:06:16)
Run For The Red Fort (00:03:41)
Prog-Raag Bhimpalasi (00:11:21)


A musically reimagined version of Buffy Sainte-Marie’s ’60s-era protest song, “Little Wheel Spin and Spin,” opens Sameer Gupta’s new album on an urgently dire note. The New York-based drummer-tabla player’s own compositions, which fill most of A Circle Has No Beginning, are in the fusion vein, continuing in Weather Report’s trajectory with echoes of ’70s Herbie Hancock and Jean-Luc Ponty. Oriental modes, celestial vibes and muted funk are heard. Not surprisingly, percussion is integral.