Sam Cooke – Greatest Hits (1998)

Sam Cooke - Greatest Hits (1998)
Artist: Sam Cooke
Album: Greatest Hits
Genre: Rhythm & Blues, Pop-Soul
Origin: USA
Label: RCA Records / BMG Entertainment
Released: 1998
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. You Send Me
02. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
03. You Were Made For Me
04. Win Your Love For Me
05. Love You Most Of All
06. Everybody Loves To Cha Cha Cha
07. Only Sixteen
08. Wonderful World
09. Chain Gang
10. Sad Mood
11. That’s It, I Quit, I’m Movin’ On
12. Cupid
13. Twistin’ The Night Away
14. Having A Party
15. Bring It On Home To Me
16. Sugar Dumpling [Original Version]
17. Nothing Can Change This Love
18. Somebody Have Mercy
19. Send Me Some Lovin’
20. Frankie And Johnny
21. Little Red Rooster


Although it isn’t as sublime as the definitive The Man and His Music, Greatest Hits still does a good job of rounding up the majority of Sam Cooke’s biggest pop hits. Ironically, it doesn’t have enough gospel or R&B cuts, skipping over such essentials as “Touch the Hem of His Garment,” “Ain’t That Good News,” and “A Change Is Gonna Come” in favor of such pop hits as “Sugar Dumpling.” However, it has just enough songs that aren’t on The Man and His Music to make it worth exploring for fans who haven’t been able to hear some of this material before, since some of these songs had been out of print for years. Nevertheless, the curious and the novice should be aware that this is not a good introduction to Sam Cooke, because it doesn’t provide a full portrait of his career and it overlooks too many necessary songs.
Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine