Ron Carter & Richard Galliano – Panamanhattan (1991)

Ron Carter & Richard Galliano - Panamanhattan (1991)
Artist: Ron Carter & Richard Galliano
Album: Panamanhattan
Genre: Post-Bop
Released: 1991
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Summer in Central Park [05:43]
02. Spleen [07:07]
03. Doom [04:50]
04. Allee des Brouillards [03:36]
05. A Small Ballad [05:42]
06. Portrait of Jennie [07:36]
07. Ballade Pour Marion [04:24]
08. Little Waltz [07:26]
09. Des Voiliers [04:09]


A series of duets with Ron Carter and French accordionist Richard Galliano. Not a common jazz instrument, the free-reed sound of the accordion on this recording is both subtle and lovely. Tempos range from ballads to medium, but tend to be on the slow side. Not breakthrough jazz, these duets (recorded live, in concert) are refreshing and what all good music should be, just good listening.
Review by Michael Erlewine