Robert Glasper – In My Element (2007)

Robert Glasper - In My Element (2007)
Artist: Robert Glasper
Album: In My Element
Genre: Contemporary Jazz, Post-Bop, Progressive Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 2007
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. G&B
2. Of Dreams to Come
3. F.T.B.
4. Y’outta Praise Him (Intro)
5. Y’outta Praise Him
6. Beatrice
7. Medley: Maiden Voyage / Everything in Its Right Place
8. J Dillalude
9. Silly Rabbit
10. One for ‘Grew
11. Tribute


Pianist Robert Glasper was Blue Note’s big discovery of 2005, a young player whose music fit into jazz’s modern mainstream yet was open to the influences of R&B and hip-hop, both of which he had performed previously. What is particularly impressive about Glasper’s playing on In My Element is that he does not sound like anyone else. Although his style does not necessarily blaze any new paths and this is a conventional if modern piano trio CD, Glasper has his own sound and approach. Bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid work very well with Glasper. The three musicians blend together perfectly and think along similar lines. While “Silly Rabbit,” with its use of an answering machine message, is a little eccentric and the closing “Tribute” has excerpts from a eulogy for Glasper’s mother recited by Reverend Joe Ratliff, the music in general is not so much innovative as it is a revitalization of the jazz piano trio. The thought-provoking improvisations grow in interest with each listen.
Review by Scott Yanow