Pink Martini & Saori Yuki – 1969 (2011)

Pink Martini & Saori Yuki - 1969 (2011)
Artist: Pink Martini & Saori Yuki
Album: 1969
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 2011
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Yuuzuki (Evening Moon) (03:18)
02. Mayonaka No Bossa Nova (Midnight Bossa Nova) (03:18)
03. Du Soleil Plein Les Yeux (Eyes Full Of Sun) (03:29)
04. Puff, The Magic Dragon (03:51)
05. Ii Janaino Shiawase Naraba (It’s Okay If I’m Happy) (03:36)
06. Blue Light Yokohama (02:51)
07. Yoake No Scat (Melody For A New Dawn) (03:17)
08. Mas Que Nada (02:37)
09. Is That All There Is? (04:13)
10. Watashi Mo Anata To Naite Ii? (Consolation) (03:36)
11. Wasuretainoni (I Want To Forget You, But …) (02:55)
12. Kisetsu No Ashioto (Footsteps Of The Seasons) (03:46)


This collaboration between retro pastiche-masters Pink Martini and Saori Yuki — sometimes described as “the Barbra Streisand of Japan” — came about after Yuki heard the group’s rendition of her song “Taya Tan” on Hey Eugene! (she also contributed to the band’s holiday album Joy to the World). It’s fitting, then, that 1969’s highlights often recall the brooding beauty of the song that sparked this pairing. “Yuuzuki (Evening Moon)”‘s sweeping drama and the torchy intimacy of “Ii Janaino Shiawase Naraba (It’s Okay If I’m Happy)” are among the moments that do the most justice to Yuki’s still-soaring voice. Like Streisand, she sounds wonderful singing just about anything, although some of these songs from 1969 (“Mas Que Nada,” “Yoake No Scat [Melody for a New Dawn]”) harness her vocal power more fully than others (“Puff, the Magic Dragon”). Still, Pink Martini fans and Yuki fans will find a lot to enjoy here.
Review by Heather Phares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020