Oliver Nelson – Stolen Moments (1975/2015)

Oliver Nelson - Stolen Moments (1975/2015)
Artist: Oliver Nelson
Album: Stolen Moments
Genre: Post-Bop
Origin: USA
Released: 1975/2015
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Stolen Moments (7:52)
02. St. Thomas (4:02)
03. Three Seconds (6:33)
04. Mission Accomplished (6:35)
05. Midnight Blue (4:15)
06. Yeanin’ (6:30)
07. Straight, No Chaser (0:40)


This LP contains Oliver Nelson’s final recording as a leader, cut just seven months before his premature death. Happily Nelson (on alto) is well-featured with a nonet, playing four of his compositions (including “Stolen Moments” and “Yearnin'”) along with versions of “St. Thomas,” Neal Hefti’s “Midnight Blue” and a very brief “Straight No Chaser.” In addition to Nelson, the group includes trumpeter Bobby Bryant, Jerome Richardson on soprano and flute, three other saxophonists and keyboardist Mike Wofford. A fine finish to a much-too-brief life.
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021 AnyJazz.com