Nina Simone – The Diva Series (2003)

Nina Simone - The Diva Series (2003)
Artist: Nina Simone
Album: The Diva Series
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Label: Verve Records
Released: 2003
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

I Put A Spell On You (2:36)
He Ain’t Comin’ Home No More (3:08)
I Loves You, Porgy (2:31)
Mississippi Goddam (4:56)
Tell Me More And More And Then Some (3:11)
Love Me Or Leave Me (4:07)
See-Line Woman (2:37)
Wild Is The Wind (7:00)
Four Women (4:27)
Don’t You Pay Them No Mind (3:08)
Lilac Wine (4:15)
Either Way I Lose (2:47)
The Gal From Joe’s (2:46)
Don’t Explain (4:21)
I Love My Baby (4:03)
Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (2:44)


Nina Simone spent time recording with Verve or the associated Philips during the mid-’60s, so her entry in the label’s 2003 The Diva Series focuses on that period, when she had an R&B hit with “I Put a Spell on You” and recorded many live albums. Though it is much longer than Verve’s previous attempts, it certainly doesn’t qualify as a solid compilation of Simone’s career. A few career-defining songs like “I Loves You, Porgy” are presented in live versions which, fine as they are, don’t rate with the studio recordings. For what it is, The Diva Series is a solid label wrap-up, including rarer material like “Wild Is the Wind” as well as a few classics like “Mississippi Goddam” and “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.”
Review by John Bush

1 thought on “Nina Simone – The Diva Series (2003)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020