Nick Brignola – On A Different Level (1990)

Nick Brignola - On A Different Level (1990)
Artist: Nick Brignola
Album: On A Different Level
Genre: Hard Bop
Origin: USA
Released: 1990
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
Tears Inside [05:24]
Hot House [10:42]
Duke Ellington’s Sound of Love [08:28]
All the Things You Are [06:22]
Backwoods Song [03:57]
Key Largo [07:01]
Sophisticated Lady [08:56]
Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise [11:50]


Baritonist Nick Brignola is in top form throughout this often roaring quartet date. Teamed with pianist Kenny Barron, bassist Dave Holland, and drummer Jack DeJohnette, Brignola tears into such numbers as Ornette Coleman’s “Tears Inside,” “Hot House,” “All the Things You Are,” and a lengthy “Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise.” Brignola’s inventive improvisations, huge sound, and powerful drive show that he was one of jazz’s greatest baritone saxophonists, and this CD is a perfect showcase for his talents.
Review by Scott Yanow