Møster! – States Of Minds (2018)

Møster! - States Of Minds (2018)
Artist: Møster!
Album: States Of Minds
Genre: Avant-Garde Jazz, Experimental
Origin: Norway
Released: 2018
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
CD 1:
Brainwave Entrainment
Unhorsed by Chivalry
Plate Sized Eyes
Bow Shock

CD 2:
Life Wobble
Phantom Bandotron
Sounds Like a Planet
Mon Plaisir
What a Flop Waking Up


Møster! is a quintet of Norwegian rock and experimental musicians led by multi-instrumentalist Kjetil Møster. On States of Minds, a two-LP release also formatted for two CDs, Møster plays saxophone, clarinet, electronics, and percussion; the rest of the group includes Hans Magnus Ryan on guitar and electronics; Jørgen Træen on modular synthesizer and lap steel guitar; Nikolai Hængsle on electric bass and electronics; and Kenneth Kapstad on drums. The group’s sound is a creative amalgamation of elements that at first may seem incongruous, but in fact fit together comfortably in a kind of instrumental space rock for the 21st century. The CDs’ focal points are the two long improvisations, which show Møster!’s skill at creating complex textural pieces balancing a broad spectrum of instrumental color. On some of the shorter, more propulsive pieces Møster or Ryan may take the lead, but in general the sound is a collective one. All in all, this is high quality, intelligent improvisational rock.
by Daniel Barbiero