Michael Lington – Second Nature (2016)

Michael Lington - Second Nature (2016)
Artist: Michael Lington
Album: Second Nature
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Origin: Denmark/USA
Released: 2016
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Beale Street 04:27
02. Stone Cool 04:29
03. Slick 04:35
04. Memphis Strut 04:27
05. Some Kinda Way 05:08
06. Second Nature 04:14
07. Soul Finger 03:38
08. Block Party 04:03
09. Alright 03:59
10. On A Sunday Morning 04:17
11. Wooh 04:05
12. Midnight Drive 06:40


Second Nature is an excellent ninth studio album by saxophonist Michael Lington with strong overtures of smooth jazz, soul and funk expertly blended into the new disc’s 12 tracks. His guest artists – featuring Booker T. Jones, Ray Parker Jr., The Dap Kings, Brian Culbertson, Paul Jackson Jr., Sy Smith, and Taylor Dayne – truly enhance the album’s exquisite sound which by the way was partially recorded at Willie Mitchell’s Royal Studios, home of the Memphis Sound.

Personal favorites include “Beale Street”, “Slick”, “Memphis Strut”, “Alright” and the title track. He also performs a lively version of the Bar-Kays’ classic “Soul Finger” to round out the 11 original tracks. The album is well produced by Barry Eastmond, who also performs on several tracks. To top it off, Michael Lington is an engaging live performer. Therefore I would highly recommend that you see him in concert or on one of the jazz cruises – if the opportunity arises!
by JN Boyle