Melanie De Biasio – No Deal (2013)

Melanie De Biasio - No Deal (2013)
Artist: Melanie De Biasio
Album: No Deal
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: Belgium
Released: 2013
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
I Feel You (1:43)
The Flow (5:18)
No Deal (4:21)
With Love (2:46)
Sweet Darling Pain (6:31)
I’m Gonna Leave You (4:25)
With All My Love (8:23)
Sweet Darling Pain (alternative take) (5:08)


Among the buzzing cyber hive and unrelenting pace of modern life, there is a special place for albums that suspend time. Melanie de Biasio’s first album in six years is seven songs of dark, transcendent music. Although deeply entrenched in jazz (she is a classically trained flautist and singer), No Deal’s atmosphere lurks in the same place as This Mortal Coil’s Lynchian glow, Portishead’s sinister authority and Mark Hollis of Talk Talk’s smoky self-titled solo album. Revered by many in her native country as the Belgian Billie Holiday, she defies this comparison to iconic jazz singers on her cover of Nina Simone’s I’m Gonna Leave You – a track Biasio reimagines brilliantly with the neat, clipped enunciation of her bruised yet burly vocals. As the final patters of the album’s send-off, With All My Love, dissolve into the ether, the eerie silence that’s left is dizzying.