Lyn Collins – Check Me Out If You Don’t Know Me By Now (1975)

Lyn Collins - Check Me Out If You Don't Know Me By Now (1975)
Artist: Lyn Collins
Album: Check Me Out If You Don’t Know Me By Now
Genre: Soul/Funk
Origin: USA
Released: 1975
Quality: mp3, 192 kbps

01 – Me And My Baby Got A Good Thing Going
02 – I’ll Never Let You Break My Heart Again
03 – Take Me Just As I Am
04 – People Make The World A Better Place
05 – We Want To Parrty, Parrty, Parrty (Part 1)
06 – Don’t Make Me Over
07 – Give It Up Or Turn It A Loose
08 – You Can’t Love Me If You Don’t Respect Me
09 – A Foggy Day
10 – To Each His Own
11 – Put It On The Line
12 – Mr. Big Stuff
13 – How Long Can I Keep It Up
14 – Baby, Don’t Do It
15 – Backstabbers [feat. James Brown]
16 – Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again & Again (6 Times) [feat. James Brown]
17 – Try A Little Tenderness
18 – If You Don’t Know Me By Know


A sterling effort from one of James Brown’s most talented finds. Wearing the producer’s hat, Brown showcases the “Female Preacher” on songs and styles from standards to funk to Southern and Philly soul. On the funk tip you have “Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again” and “How Long Can I Keep It Up.” Collins injects soul and sweat into the standards “A Foggy Day” and “Try a Little Tenderness”; shows her southern roots on “Put It on the Line”; and pays homage to the sound of Philadelphia on a quality remake of “Back Stabbers” and a dramatic five-minute-plus rendition of “If You Don’t Know Me by Now.”
Review by Andrew Hamilton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020