Kenny Drew – Solo-Duo (1996)

Kenny Drew - Solo-Duo (1996)
Artist: Kenny Drew
Album: Solo-Duo
Genre: Hard Bop
Origin: Denmark
Released: 1996
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Everything I Love (Porter) – 6:58
02. Ode to Mariann (Drew) – 3:10
03. Willow Weep for Me (Ronell) – 3:40
04. Swingin’ Till the Girls Come Home (Pettiford) – 6:46
05. Yesterdays (Kern) – 5:39
06. Blues for Nils (Drew) – 4:23
07. A Simple Need (Cameron) – 3:03
08. Whisper Not (Golson) – 4:03
09. Blues for Nils (Drew) – 10:13
10. There’s No Greater Love (Jones) – 7:54
11. Ack Varmeland du Skona (Trad.) – 8:13
12. Bluesology (Jackson) – 6:23


The talented, if underrated bebop pianist Kenny Drew spent his last few decades living in Scandinavia after emigrating from the U.S. in 1961. This 1996 CD has previously unreleased material recorded by the Danish Broadcast Corporation featuring Drew at three different periods in time. There are four tunes apiece of Drew in duets with bassist Niels Pedersen in 1966, playing unaccompanied solos in 1978, and duets with bassist Bo Stief in 1983. All dozen numbers (seven jazz standards, a Scandinavian folk song, an obscurity and two Drew originals, including two versions of “Blues for Nils”) are quite rewarding. The music is straight-ahead, often harmonically sophisticated, swinging and occasionally unpredictable. An excellent sampling of Kenny Drew’s talents.
Review by Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020