Jonathan Fritzen – Diamonds (2010)

Jonathan Fritzen - Diamonds (2010)
Artist: Jonathan Fritzen
Album: Diamonds
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Origin: Sweden
Released: 2010
Quality: mp3, 192 kbps

1. Feelin’ The Groove (Featuring Laila Adele) (4:17)
2. This Way, That Way (Featuring Darren Rahn) (4:22)
3. Dance With Me (3:58)
4. Fly Away (Featuring Jessy J) (4:50)
5. Undercover (4:19)
6. You’ll Be Mine (Featuring Laila Adele) (4:51)
7. Stockholm Nights (4:36)
8. Vibrations (Featuring Koh Mr. Saxman) (4:25)
9. Melting (Featuring Alex Crown) (5:19)
10. Diamonds (3:57)


The key attribute of any truly successful artist is the ability to consistently write music of the quality that can shape a career. This doesn’t always come easy but in the case of writer, producer and keyboard player Jonathan Fritzén he really has hit the ground running. Reaching to the very core of what great smooth jazz should be, his 2008 debut ‘Love Birds’ announced him as a performer of tremendous promise yet it seemed incredible when less than a year later he returned with the equally impressive ‘VIP’. It proved to be a run-away success, spent a total of 40 weeks on the Top 50 and propelled the infectious title cut to a top-10 placing on the Billboard charts.

Now, brand new for 2010 and with a street date of June 19, Fritzén is continuing his exciting musical journey with the highly anticipated and delightfully accessible ‘Diamonds’. Described as his most personal project yet, he has composed all ten tracks, produced throughout and in common with ‘VIP’ engaged the services of some really outstanding guest artists. Laila Adéle, who featured on ‘VIP’, makes a welcome return while both Alex Al and Mel Brown contribute on bass. Sax duties are shared between Koh (aka Mr. Saxman, with whom Fritzén recently worked in Thailand), the ubiquitous Darren Rahn and rising smooth jazz starlet Jessy J. Indeed her performance on the sultry ‘Fly Away’ is something to savor and a special mention must go to the soul drenched ‘You’ll Be My Mine’ where not for the first time Adéle steals the show. Rahn, who also mixed the album, provides an input to the mid tempo ‘This Way That Way’ that is sure to make it a favorite of the airwaves but that said the first single to be serviced to radio is ‘Dance With Me’ which finds Fritzén at his rhythmic best.

Jonathan Fritzén was born in Stockholm to a Swedish mother and an American father. As a young child he playing drums and later added piano, bass, guitar, flute and vocals. By the age of 22 Jonathan had performed on national Swedish television several times and toured with some of the countries most respected jazz musicians. Three years later he recorded ‘Love Birds’ and the rest, as they say, his history. With ‘Diamonds’ he is all set to write a new chapter.