Jimmy McGriff – The Jazz Collector Edition (1991)

Jimmy McGriff - The Jazz Collector Edition (1991)
Artist: Jimmy McGriff
Album: The Jazz Collector Edition
Genre: Hard Bop, Soul Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 1991
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. G M I [04:43]
02. These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You [05:20]
03. Stella By Starlight [04:26]
04. The Worm Turns [04:13]
05. The Sermon [03:00]
06. The Blues Train To Georgia [04:56]
07. Misty [07:31]
08. Groove Grease [03:32]
09. The Bird [03:13]
10. Plain Brown Bag [03:36]
11. There Will Never Be Another You [04:48]
12. Canadian Sunset [03:30]


This is a reissue of two 1970s McGriff albums, Groove Grease (1971) and Main Squeeze (1974) originally released on the Groove Merchant label. The first has McGriff with Jimmy Ponder (g) and Eddie Gladden (d). The second album has mixed personnel including Everett Barksdale (g), Cliff Davis (sax), Murray Wilson (tpt), and Johnny Board (Baritone sax). In general, nice, laid-back playing.