Jay Soto – Veritas (2015)

Jay Soto - Veritas (2015)
Artist: Jay Soto
Album: Veritas
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 2015
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Voice Of The Archangel 03:57
02. King Of Glory 03:55
03. Song For The Blessed Mother 04:13
04. Veritas 03:12
05. Ancient Of Days 04:46
06. Story Of Creation 05:40
07. Communion Of Saints 05:00
08. Christus Resurrexit 04:20
09. Sacramentum Caritatis 04:01
10. The Beatific Vision 04:46


All started in 2005 with Long Time Coming. With nuGroove Records Jay Soto had his second start with his promising album Stay Awhile followed by Mesmerized in 2009. After a long hiatus he is back with Veritas (2015). The title is the Latin word for truth and reveals Jay’s affinity for the Catholic religion.

Soto is accompanied on the new album by bassist Mario Mendevil, drummers Goran Rista and Phil Robertson. Not to compare with his previous albums, which were packed with musicians of the Smooth Jazz scene. Jay comments꞉ “It’s very different from previous releases. It’s me in the most honest light.″

The album starts with Voice Of The Archangel. Embedded in an epic orchestral environment Jay jubilates on his guitar in Spanish style. King Of Glory celebrates the greatness of God in his omnipotence with a grandiloquent string orchestra and Jay’s brilliant acoustic guitar performance.

Song For The Blessed Mother ventures into oriental climes revealing the Arabic heritage of the acoustic guitar. The title song powers up to an energetic crescendo with a fusion of Rock in the style of ELO and rhythm driven classic which becomes popular again since David Garrett and Coldplay. Remarkable the forceful guitar in the lead.

Ancient Of Days offers as additional moment the intrusion of drum programming, electric guitar and synth sounds in the system of guitar and orchestra. With Story Of Creation Jay sets a soothing point of contemplation in the midst of his album, which soon erupts shortly to underline this character. This atmospheric music finds the best placement as score of a whopping movie.

Communion Of Saints is the spiritual union of the members of the Christian Church, living and the dead, those on earth, in heaven. Soto delivers his acoustic interpretation of this sacred definition in the light of his belief. Christus Resurrexit is the Latin exclamation of Christ is Risen! A happy excited piece of music with classic reference. Sacramentum Caritatis (The Sacrament of Charity) is an apostolic exhortation many Catholics believe, celebrate and live. This is Jay’s musical answer.

In Christian theology, the beatific vision is the ultimate direct self communication of God to the individual person. A final musical internalization of a faith principle.

Jay Soto attests with Veritas to the reality of a relational God who creates, delivers and gives. He finds an image of God in the beauty of his musical creativity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 AnyJazz.com