James Muller (with Matt Penman and Bill Stewart) – Kaboom (2006)

James Muller (with Matt Penman and Bill Stewart) - Kaboom (2006)
Artist: James Muller (with Matt Penman and Bill Stewart)
Album: Kaboom
Genre: Contemporary Jazz
Origin: Australia
Released: 2006
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. Honeycombs
2. Kaboom
3. Stacked
4. D Blues
5. Eindhoven
6. Chick Corea
7. Marcello
8. All The Things You Are


Australian guitarist James Muller makes a potentstatement on his fourth release as a leader, originally issued in 2006 and recently re-pressed. Recorded in New York with drummer Bill Stewart and bassist Matt Penman, Kaboom showcases Muller’s startling six-string facility and fresh compositional style. Highlights include the swinging title track; the edgy “D Blues,” full of daring intervallic leaps and rapid-fire single-note streams; and Muller’s soulful and swinging tribute tune “Chick Corea,” on which he burns up the fretboard yet again. Muller closes with a straight reading of “All the Things You Are” that has him blowing over the bar line with jaw-dropping abandon. For sheer speed, spotless articulation and fertile ideas, Muller ranks right up there with fellow Aussie chopsmeister Frank Gambale.
By Bill Milkowski

Copyright © 2021 AnyJazz.com