Gabby Young & Other Animals – We’re All In This Together [Special Edition] (2009)

Gabby Young & Other Animals - We're All In This Together [Special Edition] (2009)
Artist: Gabby Young & Other Animals
Album: We’re All In This Together [Special Edition]
Genre: Jazz/Cabaret/Swing/Indie
Origin: UK
Released: 2009
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Umm… 04:34
02. Ladies Of The Lake 02:13
03. Horn Interlude 00:16
04. Ones That Got Away 03:17
05. We’re All In This Together 05:35
06. Lipsink 03:10
07. Whose House 04:19
08. Sour 05:08
09. Ask You A Question 02:09
10. Horatio Intro… 00:10
11. Maybe 04:47
12. Too Young To Die 06:34
13. Two By Two 04:49

Bonus Tracks:
14. Snakebite 03:31
15. Mole 06:04
16. Down 05:00
17. Button 04:44


One of the highlights of this year’s Womad was a wild, red-haired British singer backed by a band that included brass, banjo and accordion, and moved effortlessly from ragtime and jazz to Balkan influences, sometimes in the same song. Gabby Young has been praised for her live shows, but her recordings have in the past only been available through her own label. Now her most recent album is being rereleased, with four added tracks, on World Connection, which also has Mariza on its roster; with luck, this will bring Young greater attention. After all, she is a versatile, classically trained singer and an inventive, surprising songwriter with a barrage of global influences. On the opening track, Young switches from slinky jazz balladry to a brassy romp, then back, with a fine sense of theatrics and dynamics; she slows down for the cool, banjo-backed title track. The bonus songs include Snakebite, which mixes circus themes and furious brass, and the soulful Mole, from her debut album four years ago.

Copyright © 2021