Deborah Brown – Jazz 4 Jazz (1988)

Deborah Brown - Jazz 4 Jazz (1988)
Artist: Deborah Brown
Album: Jazz 4 Jazz
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 1988
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Little Esther (5:09)
02. Denise (4:26)
03. Finally (6:34)
04. It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing) (4:59)
05. Emraceable You (8:10)
06. Since I Fell For You (7:45)
07. I Thought About You (7:34)
08. My Romance (3:09)
09. What Is This Thing Called Love (3:30)
10. When We Were One (5:12)
11. Bebop (2:59)
12. When I Fall In Love (7:06)


A pleasing and swinging singer who has not become famous in the United States despite her talents, Deborah Brown is in top form on this 1993 reissue of a set recorded in 1988 for the tiny Reaction label. Accompanied by a top-notch trio of American expatriates (pianist Horace Parlan, bassist Red Mitchell, and drummer Ed Thigpen), Brown swings her way through such songs as “It Don’t Mean a Thing,” “I Thought About You,” “My Romance,” and Dizzy Gillespie’s “Bebop.” This CD starts out a little unusual with one song apiece by Parlan, Thigpen, and Mitchell, tunes that give Deborah Brown an opportunity to show how creative a singer she is, before she tackles the well-known standards. Happily, Brown has remained active in Europe into the 21st century. Recommended.
Review by Scott Yanow