Dean Brown – Here (2001)

Dean Brown - Here (2001)
Artist: Dean Brown
Album: Here
Genre: Jazz Rock/Fusion/Funk
Origin: France / USA
Released: 2001
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Take This! 06:33
02. Gemini 05:42
03. Back In The Day 04:59
04. Seven Groove Interlude 00:25
05. Tell It (Like It Is) 06:37
06. Big Foot 06:15
07. The Clave Groove 05:35
08. Billy Groove Interlude 00:30
09. Belive Me 06:01
10. Solid 06:07
11. Baby You’re A Rich Man 04:38
12. Just For Kicks 04:48
13. Seven Groove Interlude 00:37
14. The Battle’s Over (For Jaco) 09:23


Session guitar whiz Dean Brown steps out with his solo debut, a set of tightly played, nicely recorded jazz-funk fusion tunes. Brown’s guitar work is undeniably tasty — drawing equally, it seems, from Jimi Hendrix and Larry Carlton. For support he drafts the biggest of the big names: Michael and Randy Brecker, David Sanborn, Billy Cobham, Marcus Miller, George Duke, Christian McBride, and quite a few others. Brown’s original music at times lapses into cliché, particularly on the soft jazz throwaway “Believe Me.” The vocal cut “Tell It (Like It Is)” and the Beatles cover “Baby You’re a Rich Man” also don’t add up to much. But the album has its high points: the rocking 6/8 assault of “Solid”; the churning, laid-back syncopation of “The Clave Groove”; and Marcus Miller’s fretless bass work on “Gemini.”
Review by David R. Adler

Copyright © 2021