Cornell Dupree – Teasin’ (1974)

Cornell Dupree - Teasin' (1974)
Artist: Cornell Dupree
Album: Teasin’
Genre: Funk, Soul-Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 1974
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Teasin’
02. Blue Nocturne
03. Jamaican Lady
04. Feel All Right
05. How Long Will It Last
06. What Would I Do Without You
07. Okie Dokie Stomp
08. Plain Ol’ Blues


Though he had been a key session player for Atlantic since the late 1960s, guitarist Cornell Dupree was finally given the opportunity to record his own date for the label in 1974. Teasin’ was co-produced by Mark Meyerson and Michael Cuscuna. Dupree’s band for the date was made up of ace session players including drummer Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, bassist Chuck Rainey, percussionist Ralph MacDonald, his fellow Stuff co-founder Richard Tee on keyboards, and saxophonist David “Fathead” Newman. Other horn players on various tracks include Joe Farrell, Ernie Royal, Jon Faddis, Joe Newman, Ernie Royal, Seldon Powell, and Garnett Brown. Given Dupree’s pedigree, there’s an unmistakable Southern Texas vibe on the set, although it was recorded in New York. It’s most notable in the appropriately named “Blue Nocturne,” the gospel-flavored “What Would I Do Without You,” the rocking “Feel All Right,” and the T-Bone Walker-influenced “Okie Dokie Stomp” (Walker was one of Dupree’s biggest influences). But the guitar player’s jazz-funk side gets plenty of play, too, evidenced the grooving title cut, “How Long Will It Last,” and even the Caribbean-tinged “Jamaican Lady.” The arrangements on these latter tunes recall the CTI sound quite a bit but are, as a whole, punchier and somewhat more dynamic. This is a feel-good date to be sure, but it features stellar musicianship, good charts, and excellent soloing from Dupree and Newman.
Review by Thom Jurek