Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea (2011)

Corinne Bailey Rae - The Sea (2011)
Artist: Corinne Bailey Rae
Album: The Sea
Genre: Soul-Jazz
Origin: UK
Released: 2011
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Are You Here (4:13)
02. I’d Do It All Again (3:08)
03. Feels Like The First Time (3:13)
04. The Blackest Lily (3:38)
05. Closer (4:17)
06. Love’s On Its Way (3:55)
07. I Would Like To Call It Beauty (4:19)
08. Paris Nights / New York Mornings (3:51)
09. Paper Dolls (3:20)
10. Diving For Hearts (4:51)
11. The Sea (4:05)

Bonus CD – The Love EP:
01. I Wanna Be Your Lover (3:29)
02. Low Red Moon (5:00)
03. Is This Love (3:29)
04. My Love (3:17)
05. Que Sera Sera (Live) (13:27)


The Sea begins with an acoustic-guitar chord and the words, “He’s a real live wire/ He’s the best of his kind/ Wait till you see those eyes”. Corinne Bailey Rae is describing her husband, who died of an accidental methadone overdose while she was writing this album, the follow-up to her successful 2006 debut. Some of the songs pre-date his death, but, with a few unexpected, blissed-out exceptions, all sound elegiac. She seems lost in a reverie, wistfully recalling a quarrel as a Hammond organ swirls on I’d Do it All Again, and dreamily wondering how she’ll look back on her own life on the slow-building Love’s On Its Way. The meandering lullaby of the title track ends with, “The sea, the majestic sea, takes everything from me”, after which it’s difficult to remain dry eyed. Even allowing for occasional swoops into blandish neo-soul, Rae has made an album she’ll have trouble bettering.

Copyright © 2021