Clare Teal – Twelve O’Clock Tales (2016)

Clare Teal - Twelve O'Clock Tales (2016)
Artist: Clare Teal
Album: Twelve O’Clock Tales
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: UK
Released: 2016
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. It Might As Well Be Spring (03:40)
02. Feeling Good (05:19)
03. Wild Is The Wind (03:55)
04. Sans Souci (03:26)
05. I’ll Never Stop Loving You (05:31)
06. La Belle Dame Sans Regret (05:06)
07. Lush Life (05:58)
08. Never Again (03:33)
09. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most (06:42)
10. Always True To You In My Fashion (03:42)
11. Whole (It Isn’t Like Me) (04:21)
12. Secret Love (06:27)
13. The Folks Who Live On The Hill (04:10)
14. Paradisi Carousel (04:43)


An orchestra of 93 makes a sound so broad, rich and variegated that it floods the senses. To sing with such an accompaniment must be both exhilarating and terrifying. For Clare Teal, the entire Hallé Orchestra, plus a full big band, acts as a stimulant. Teal tackles a couple of the most demanding jazz ballads with poise and understanding, brings the smile into her voice for the wit of Cole Porter, and generally proves her mastery not only of classic American song but of pieces by Sting, Tim Rice et al, not to mention two of her own. With orchestrations by Guy Barker, Jason Rebello and Grant Windsor, plus a sprinkling of good jazz solos, it’s almost too much to take in.

Copyright © 2021