Chris Connor – A Jazz Date with Chris Connor (1956)

Chris Connor - A Jazz Date with Chris Connor (1956)
Artist: Chris Connor
Album: A Jazz Date with Chris Connor
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 1956
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. Moon Ray
2. Poor Little Rich Girl
3. Just Squeeze Me
4. Fancy Fre
5. It’s A Most Unusual Day
6. All I Need Is You
7. It Only Happens When I Dance With You
8. Lonely Town
9. Everything I’ve Got
10. Driftwood
11. I’m Shooting High
12. My Shining Hour


Two of singer Chris Connor’s finest Atlantic albums are reissued in full on this single CD. The laid-back yet coolly emotional jazz singer is heard backed by top-notch rhythm sections (with either Ralph Sharon or Stan Free being the pianist/arranger) and occasional horns (trumpeter Joe Wilder, flutist Sam Most, tenors Al Cohn and Lucky Thompson, flutist Bobby Jaspar and Al Epstein on English horn and bass clarinet) adding some short solos. Connor (then around 30) was in her prime, and her renditions of such songs as “Poor Little Rich Girl,” “Lonely Town,” “I’m Shooting High,” “Moonlight in Vermont,” and even “Johnny One Note” are memorable and sometimes haunting.
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021