Chłopcy Kontra Basia – Oj Tak! (2013)

Chłopcy Kontra Basia - Oj Tak! (2013)
Artist: Chłopcy Kontra Basia
Album: Oj Tak!
Genre: Folk-Jazz
Origin: Poland
Released: 2013
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Mam Ja Męża 03:47
02. Oj Tak 04:37
03. Hej Zagraj Muzyczko 04:06
04. Krzywa Noga 02:15
05. Jerzy 03:40
06. Kasia 01:55
07. Sukienka 02:51
08. Bociek 04:40
09. O Martusi Pchełce 04:00
10. Wieczerza 03:36
11. Lament 04:05
12. Sekret 02:54


Based in the ancient and fashionably arty city of Krakow, this intriguing new Polish band match tradition with experiment. Chłopcy Kontra Basia translates as “Boys Against Basia”, and apparently reflects the musical tensions that come to bear on a trio fronted by a classically trained, folk-influenced singer and clarinet player, and backed by a rhythm section with a jazz background. Maybe that’s the way they started out, but Basia Derlak is such a formidable force that she dominates the sturdy riffs and occasionally jazzy solos of her double-bass player and percussionist. Her songs are based around often surreal folk tales, but she treats them with an engaging, dramatic and acrobatic style that veers between slinky, intimate vocals and half-spoken scat passages. There are keyboards and futujara flute on some tracks, but a singer this distinctive would be helped by a bigger band.

Copyright © 2021