Cheryl Bentyne – Let’s Misbehave: The Cole Porter Song Book (2012)

Cheryl Bentyne - Let's Misbehave The Cole Porter Song Book (2012)
Artist: Cheryl Bentyne
Album: Let’s Misbehave: The Cole Porter Song Book
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 2012
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Love For Sale
02. It’s Alright With Me
03. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
04. I Love Paris
05. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
06. Night and Day
07. Just One of Those Things
08. What is this thing called Love
09. Begin the Beguine
10. All of You
11. I Concentrate on You
12. It’s Delovely
13. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
14. Let’s Misbehave


Cheryl Bentyne has maintained an active solo career in addition to her work with the Manhattan Transfer. Let’s Misbehave is a fresh look at the Cole Porter songbook, featuring a baker’s dozen of his best-known compositions, and showcasing a terrific band including pianist/organist Corey Allen, guitarist Larry Koonse, saxophonist/clarinetist Doug Webb, and bassist Kevin Axt (a member of Tierney Sutton’s band), among others. Bentyne’s sassy take of “Love for Sale” is buoyed by the piano/organ backdrop and Webb’s soulful tenor. She devours the playful, hip Cuban setting of “My Heart Belongs to Daddy,” while her interpretation of “I Love Paris” is pure magic. Her vocal gifts can especially be appreciated in “Begin the Beguine,” with drummer Dave Tull as her sole accompanist. The late James Moody is a special guest on tenor sax for the breezy setting of “What Is This Thing Called Love” and the haunting, deliberate “Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye,” the latter of which Bentyne sings the words as if she’s lived them. Let’s Misbehave is clearly one Cheryl Bentyne’s best recordings.
Review by Ken Dryden

Copyright © 2021