Cedar Walton – The Trio, Vol. 1 (2013)

Cedar Walton - The Trio, Vol. 1 (2013)
Artist: Cedar Walton
Album: The Trio, Vol. 1
Genre: Hard Bop, Piano Jazz
Origin: USA
Released: 2013
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps
My Ship [10:04]
Every Time We Say Goodbye [08:30]
Satin Doll [06:27]
Lover Man [05:22]
Holy Land [09:00]
Voices Deep Within Me [10:54]


There have been many Cedar Walton records put out through the years and the three that he and his trio made during a Bologna concert in 1985 rank with his best. Joined by bassist David Williams and drummer Billy Higgins, Walton stretches out on four standards (highlighted by “My Ship”) and a pair of originals (“Holy Land” and “Voices Deep Within Me”) during this first volume; all are easily recommended to straightahead jazz collectors.
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021 AnyJazz.com