Carmen Cuesta – Mi Bossa Nova (2010)

Carmen Cuesta - Mi Bossa Nova (2010)
Artist: Carmen Cuesta
Album: Mi Bossa Nova
Genre: Vocal Jazz, Smooth Jazz
Origin: Spain
Released: 2010
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Triste [03:02]
02. Fotografia [04:16]
03. Retrato Em Branco E Preto [05:07]
04. O Barquinho [03:51]
05. Pois E [03:25]
06. Jobim [04:43]
07. Modinha [03:05]
08. Tormenta [03:20]
09. Manha De Carnaval [03:59]
10. Chega De Saudade [03:49]
11. Meditacao [04:29]


The Spanish singer Carmen Cuesta has long had a love for the music of Antonio Carlos Jobim and other bossa nova composers, though her earlier CDs have focused more on originals co-written with her husband, guitarist Chuck Loeb. But bossa nova reigns supreme on this 2011 release, with Loeb contributing well-produced backgrounds for Cuesta’s fresh, pleasing alto voice. Initially she worked on translating the Portuguese lyrics into Spanish, only to be stymied by legal issues after she was well underway with her work. In any case, Cuesta is able to convey the elegance of these timeless melodies. Her vocals capture the longing of the lyric to “Retrato em Branco e Preto” in a heartfelt performance. Cuesta is equally sensual in her interpretation of “Meditaçao.” Her flawless rendition of Luis Bonfá’s “Manha de Carnaval” could easily be used in a film soundtrack. Cuesta and Loeb’s daughters Christina and Lizzy are added on flutes for their mother’s “Jobim,” her warm tribute to her inspiration for this CD. Throughout the date, Chuck Loeb’s orchestrations and acoustic guitar solos add to the beauty of Carmen Cuesta’s performances. It’s easy to understand why they enjoy making music together as documented in Mi Bossa Nova.
Review by Ken Dryden

Copyright © 2021