Bud Powell – The Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1 (1949)

Bud Powell - The Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1 (1949)
Artist: Bud Powell
Album: The Amazing Bud Powell, Vol. 1
Genre: Bop
Origin: USA
Released: 1949
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. Bouncing with Bud (3:01)
2. Wail (3:06)
3. Dance of the Infidels (2:53)
4. 52nd Street Theme (2:49)
5. You Go to My Head (3:15)
6. Ornithology (2:24)
7. Bouncing with Bud (Alternate Take 1) (3:05)
8. Bouncing with Bud (Alternate Take 2) (3:15)
9. Wail (Alternate Take) (2:42)
10. Dance of the Infidels (Alternate Take) (2:49)
11. Ornithology (Alternate Take) (3:11)
12. Un Poco Loco (4:47)
13. Over the Rainbow (2:58)
14. A Night in Tunisia (4:16)
15. It Could Happen to You (3:16)
16. Parisian Thoroughfare (3:27)
17. Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take 1) (3:48)
18. Un Poco Loco (Alternate Take 2) (4:31)
19. A Night in Tunisia (Alternate Take) (3:53)
20. It Could Happen to You (Alternate Take) (2:26)


The CD reissues of the two albums titled The Amazing Bud Powell put the important recordings in chronological order (which they weren’t in the LP versions) and add some alternate takes; all of the music has also been included in a definitive four-CD box set. Although the latter is the best way to acquire the important performances, this CD gives one a strong sampling of pianist Bud Powell at his best. Powell is heard in a classic session with trumpeter Fats Navarro and tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins (which is highlighted by exciting versions of “Dance of the Infidels,” “52nd Street Theme,” and “Bouncing With Bud”) and in a trio performing “Over the Rainbow” and three versions of his intense “Un Poco Loco.”
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021 AnyJazz.com