Brian Bromberg – Plays Jimi Hendrix (2010)

Brian Bromberg - Plays Jimi Hendrix (2010)
Artist: Brian Bromberg
Album: Plays Jimi Hendrix
Genre: Jazz-Rock, Fusion
Origin: USA
Released: 2010
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1. Fire
2. Manic Depression
3. The Wind Cries Mary
4. Voodoo Chile
5. Freedom
6. All Along THe Watchtower
7. Foxey Lady
8. Hey Joe
9. Crosstown Traffic
10. Spanish Castle Magic
11. Purple Haze


On Bromberg Plays Hendrix, bassist Brian Bromberg doesn’t utilize the electric guitar at all, but it’s hard to tell. A tribute to one of the world’s most inventive guitarists could only be honored by doing something completely different from what is expected. Bromberg manages this on both acoustic and electric piccolo bass. Whether covering sonic blasts like “Fire” and “Purple Haze” or the melancholia of “The Wind Cries Mary,” Bromberg and drummer Vinnie Colaiuta make this a worthwhile endeavor that stands up to repeated listening.
Review by Al Campbell