Alphonse Mouzon Band – Back To Jazz (1985)

Alphonse Mouzon Band - Back To Jazz (1985)
Artist: Alphonse Mouzon Band
Album: Back To Jazz
Genre: Jazz-Funk, Fusion
Origin: USA
Released: 1985
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

1 St. Thomas
2 The Time We Love
3 Poobli
4 Space Commander
5 Peace On Earth
6 The Baker’s Daughter
7 Just Because Of You
8 Step Into The Funk
9 When We Were Young
10 Hello, I Must Be Going


Throughout his career, drummer Alphonse Mouzon has been featured in many different settings. Some of his own recordings as a leader have been purposely commercial, but this date (originally released by Pausa and reissued by Mouzon on his Tenacious label) is more jazz-oriented. Most selections feature the fine altoist Doug Norwine (where has he been since?), in a quartet with Mouzon, pianist Jeff Daniels (doubling on synth) and bassist Welton Gite; on many of the numbers, Mouzon and Daniels also utilize synths, and “Peace on Earth” has vocal appearances by the drummer’s two children. There is also a brief feature (“Space Commander”) for Mouzon’s electronic percussion. An interesting set worth picking up.
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021