Alan Pasqua – My New Old Friend (2005)

Alan Pasqua - My New Old Friend (2005)
Artist: Alan Pasqua
Album: My New Old Friend
Genre: Post-Bop, Fusion
Origin: USA
Released: 2005
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. You Must Believe in Spring
02. Barcelona
03. Highway
04. All the Things Your Are
05. My New Old Friend
06. Body and Soul
07. One More Once
09. Wichita Lineman
10. Stick Slap
11. Smile


Alan Pasqua’s My New Old Friend is mostly a set of sensitive and relaxed trio improvisations. Pasqua, bassist Darek Oles and drummer Peter Erskine, three of the top jazz musicians based in Los Angeles, perform subtle reshapings of five standards which alternate with six of Pasqua’s generally introspective originals. One is reminded of Bill Evans (particularly on the standards) in Pasqua’s sophisticated chord voicings and the close interplay of the musicians, but that is only a point of reference rather than a direct copy. However fans of Evans’ treatments of ballads will certainly enjoy this accessible and thoughtful effort.
Review by Scott Yanow

Copyright © 2021