Akiko – Commencement (2014)

Akiko - Commencement (2014)
Artist: Akiko Tsuruga
Album: Commencement
Genre: Bop, Hammond
Origin: Japan / USA
Released: 2014
Quality: mp3, 320 kbps

01. Blues For Bandit (5:15)
02. Funky Girl (5:06)
03. When Johnny Comes Marching Home (5:11)
04. How Deep Is Your Love (5:54)
05. Give Me The Simple Life (5:08)
06. Spanish Flea (4:38)
07. It’s Easy To Remember (6:12)
08. L-O-V-E (6:08)
09. Don’t Misunderstand (6:09)
10. Commencement (6:47)


Akiko started playing the organ at the age of 3. After graduating from Osaka College of Music, her career as a jazz organist started immediately. She immigrated into NYC in 2001 and have been blessed with so many celebrated music artists such as Lou Donaldson, Grady Tate, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Jeff Hamilton, Frank Wess, Bernard ‘Pretty’ Prudie and Jimmy Cobb.

Akiko joined Lou Donaldson Quartet in 2007 and have been toured worldwide in Europe, Asia including jazz clubs and jazz festivals in the United States since then. Meanwhile, her own band has headlined many well-known jazz venues as Vail Jazz Festival, Blue Note, Dizzy’s Club Coca Cola in Jazz at Lincoln Center.

As her mentor, the legendary Dr. Lonnie Smith describes, “Akiko’s playing is like watching a flower blooming, a bird spreading her wings in the music world. Akiko is here to stay.” Her future is bright and promising.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 AnyJazz.com